AC-DC power supply

MacMcD

Joined Feb 4, 2024
Hello,
I have just joined the website. I am fairly new to electronic theory and design, but like to build projects. I have a few amp kits, preamps, dacs, speaker projects on the go. I am looking for help with the following.

I am going to power the digital side of an I2S over USB board from 2 external supply's. I need 2 AC-DC power supply's powered by 9VAC transformer secondaries. The output DC is +5V 400ma draw for one and +5V 100ma draw for the other.

So to start out with my first questions on this forum:

1. When looking at online AC-DC power supply's to purchase, they are +/- DC outputs. Is it possible to use only the + output of these power supply's ?
2. If the answer to question #1 is "No", would any member have access to gerber files that I could send to a pcb fab shop. I was thinking that LM317T would be a good choice for the application.

I hope I have given enough information, thanks for the help,
MM

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Welcome to AAC!

If we are talking about wall adapters (bricks, walwarts, power adapters, etc.) there are two designs.

1) Transformer adapters. These tend to be bulkier and heavier.

1707314527402.png

2) Non-transformer adapters. More commonly used as USB chargers.
1707314713417.png

The photos shown above are not representative of all wall adapters. There are many other styles and types.

In general, a single voltage supply will have an output plug. This is often a barrel connector of different styles and sizes.
1707314924399.png

1707315015106.png

The label on the adapter will indicate the voltage and current output as well as the polarity of the output connector.
Note that the current rating is the maximum current that the adpater can supply. The actual current output will depend on the load. The load will only take as much current as it needs.