Ability of PLC's to communicate via 4-20mA and 0-10volts between laboratory devices and the PLC

bluecaribou521!

Joined Apr 17, 2020
Hey guys, I'm studying electrical engineering technology and the Coronavirus turned my capstone project into a research paper. My assignment is on PLC's, which we have covered the basics of, but I still know little about how they operate. Here is the prompt:

"Research the ability of PLC's to communicate via 4-20mA and 0-10volts between the laboratory devices and the PLC.

This would include how to communicate between these devices using an analog device that has 0-10 volts and converts to 4-20mA.

Look up information about the circuits required for converting this function 0-10v to 4-20mA and 4-20mA to 0-10volts. Look up circuits that can do this on GOOGLE. Shouldn't be too difficult, but I would like this information in a particular format using a schematic, along with information how this can be done ."

If anyone has any information that might help me out with this paper that would be amazing. Or if you know of any resources or websites that might cover this topic, that would help too. I am really lost and don't know where to start. Thanks!!

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Here's another amazing thing you might try: Look up circuits that can do this on GOOGLE.

Do that and learn what you can (that's sometimes called "research") and then ask specific questions related to what you have learned.

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
"Research the ability of PLC's to communicate via 4-20mA and 0-10volts between the laboratory devices and the PLC.

This would include how to communicate between these devices using an analog device that has 0-10 volts and converts to 4-20mA.