72 led circuit

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by JonoMc, Jan 12, 2018.

1. JonoMc

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 12, 2018
    Hi all. I'm a complete newbie to all of this but willing to give it a shot. I have a project where Ive built a 1.2m lego display truck and trailer that holds the centre speaker for the home theatre in the entertainment unit. I have placed inside the sleeper a wireless door bell and it works great.
    What I'm trying to do now is light it up by either a push of a button or from the doorbell ringing. the door bell has a green led that lights while it is activated so I'm thinking this as a trigger through a relay to power the lights. Also wanting to have a simple on/off switch. the led im using are 0603 for their size to fit inside a lego stud. Wire gauge is 27 for the mains and 32 to each led to fit between brick plates. I have 52 orange, 16 red and 7 white ones to light up but not to their full brightness. How would I go about this and what is the smallest power required to run them. Do I put them in a parallel or series circuit and do I wire each colour separately or can I put them all on the same power wire. Someone told me that I could run 32 in parallel with a 2.2ohm resistor with 2xAAA batteries?. I have room under the truck for up to 4 AAA or one 9v. Not sure how to start all of this.
    Every bit of help is much needed.
    Cheers Jono

2. smooth_jamie

Jan 4, 2017
    Hi Jono,

You place all your LED's in parallel. Each LED should have a resistor connected to it to limit the current otherwise they will burn out. You can calculate the required resistor using Ohm's law R =V / I. For example, if you are using a generic LED which is 5V 20mA then with a 5V power supply you will require a resistor of at least 250 Ohms (closest resistor size you can buy is 270 Ohms so always use the higher available value).