2 Power sources, 1 load, and possibly daisy chaining power

SardyParty

Joined Jun 16, 2023
Hi,

I'm pretty new to all of this, so please let me know if something doesn't make sense.

I am building display units with LEDs in them, powered by a 5v USB C to make it easy to disconnect and cable manage. I would like to put a USB C port on the left side of the unit, as well as another USB C port on the right side, so that I can plug the power source into either side in order to light the LEDs. This is to make wire management easier since I don't know which side will be more direct, and if I want to eventually move them to a different location, I'd like to have the versatility.

My first question for this project is around safety. If there are two ports in the one circuit, what would happen if I accidentally plugged a power source into both ports? The little I know says that's not a good idea, so I've thought about putting a DPDT On-Off-On switch in the circuit. That way if the switch is flipped to the left then only the left USB port will allow power through the circuit, or if the switch is flipped to the right only the right USB port will allow power through the circuit. Something like this
Screenshot 2023-06-16 at 3.42.55 PM.png
If this isn't needed, or there's a better solution, please let me know.

The second part of this, is I actually want to build 4 identical display units in the same way, and I was wondering if it would be possible to daisy chain the power somehow. The idea would be that I could plug the power source into the first unit's – let's say – left USB port, then plug one end of a USB C cable into that same unit's right USB port, and the other end into the left USB port on the second unit. This would make it so much cleaner from a wire management standpoint, so this would be the preferred outcome if possible. I have no idea how to make this work along with making it safe in case two power sources are accidentally plugged into the circuit somewhere.