wireless power transmission transistor problem

Jason27

Joined Nov 15, 2015
hi all new user, doing a project with wireless transmission with a circuit i fond on the net, problem is the transistors get VERY hot in a few minutes, the only difference is that in using 5w instead of 3w resistors. any help would be appreciated

image_800x463.jpg

Jason27

Joined Nov 15, 2015
thank you very much for your help and reply Bordodynov, ill try your circuit, what wattage resistors do you recommend?
do i need to change the pickup coil at all other than 60 winds? or anything you may think i need to know as I'm only learning here.

Bordodynov

Joined May 20, 2015
The calculation gave 1.33 watts. I recommend at least 2 watts.
The number of turns of the coil is determined by the geometric dimensions and the desired frequency of operation. In my model of the transformer inductance of the coil is determined by the number of turns and the inductance of one turn of "Al".
Say what you design (geometry) and on what frequency you want to work. Then I can make a more accurate calculation.
2.34 watts, which dissipates much transistor is heated. Perhaps the MOS transistors are more acceptable.

Last edited:

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
Hey wait...something doesn't look right. In most places these things operate between 13.56 and 13.57 MHz so as to not interfere with radio services. The 2N3055 is not fast enough. any kind of high speed use. It is quite likely that the 2N3055's don't ever fully turn off. Try faster transistors.

By the way, the wattage rating on resistors tells you how many watts you can put into them. For example, a 220 ohm 3 watt resistor will dissipate the same power as a 220 ohm 25 watt resistor in a given circuit.

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
I cannot recommend a transistor for your application because there are too many unanswered questions about the application and circuit, and in particular the transformer, which is the (no pun) core of the circuit.