Why do three 5mm 3.2v 20mA LEDs connected in parallel to 2 AAA drain them in just a few hours?

xbonet

Joined Nov 19, 2018
I have 3 warm white LEDs running off 2 AAA batteries. I know I should always use a resistor for LEDs but I'm rather new to electronics and I wanted to understand what would happen in practice. I mean, each of these LEDs has a listed forward voltage of 3.2-3.5, so the 3v from the 2 AAA batteries would be fine, and no resitance would be needed to drop any remaining voltage. But, of course, I'm not accounting for current. I guess having a resistor of small value, even if it means losing some voltage and, therefore, light intensity, would be recommended in order to control de current flow. But I still don't understand why. If each LED draws 20mA and AAA batteries are listed as having a typical drain of 10mA (which I'm reading as being somehow regulated, meaning they can't just offer whatever current), should't this circuit be already OK without any resistors? Wouldn't they just waste energy?

In practice, after testing this empirically some days, I notice the batteries get warm (not too much but, still, enough to notice), so I'm assuming it's because the LEDs are drawing a lot of current, perhaps even the 20mA they need (can they draw more?). But something weird is happening (at least something I think is weird, though you make see it as obvious because you understand more about this than I): my new 2 AAA batteries last less than 4 hours lighting up the 3 LEDs before these get really, really dim... (N.B. The LEDs aren't burning out, just to be clear: I pop in a couple of new batteries and it's all back to business as usual!) According to my calculations the batteries should last around 16hs (AAA batteries have a listed capacity of normally 1000mAh or more, so 1000mAh/60mA equals the 16hs), which is at least 4 times what they're lasting now.