Whats your score?

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
It gives me 41%
Metrology and Standards calibration and repair.

Ha! Someone has to service and repair all those millions of new robot workers. :)

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
48% Programmer

The other 52% will be taken by cheap Indian immigrant labor that piles 20 people into an apartment to make ends meet.

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
Or 4.2% Software Developer. Guess I am really a developer.

Either way cheap Indian labor will be chewing up the remaining percentage.

Last edited:

ronv

Joined Nov 12, 2008
Who you gonna manage: the machines? Ahhh...cha cha cha.
You made me think. :( I was probably part of this evolution.
My first job was IBM. We made everything - even IC's.
Then Storage Tech and my own company(tape & disk drives). We sub'd out almost everything pretty much locally and just did final assembly. We did build some products in Porto Rico for the tax relief - it wasn't a big winner.
Optical disk company with a Japanese parent. Optics from Japan, electronic from the USA.
Disk heads - engineering in the USA and manufacturing in Philippines, then Thailand.
Then back to disk drives with Maxtor - manufacturing in Singapore, China now, I think. Sourcing world wide.
The first disk drives cost about $10K to build, the last about $30. Sold about 6,000 a year of the first and 30 million of the last. Some of the last were automated, but not much. Two or three model changes a year.
Edit:
I should point out, that while the final assembly remained pretty much non-automated (read cheap labor), the rest of the parts became highly automated.

Last edited:

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
So. Let me break it down to see if I "get it".
We are all doomed because...

Cheap foreign labor will take our jobs.
Robots will take our jobs.
The internet will destroy traditional brick and mortar retailers, thereby taking our jobs.
Economic collapse will take our jobs.
Climate change will take our jobs