What type of UART I need ?

muzun

Joined Jul 13, 2018
Hello.
I'm sorry if I'm posting in wrong forum.
I bricked my router and I need a UART to unbrick it. I'm new to UART's and stuff like that and I don't know what UART to choose. One guy told me mostly I need 3.3V. That UART will be okay https://www.ebay.com/itm/Metal-case-USB2-0-to-TTL-UART-5PIN-Module-Serial-Converter-CP2102-STC-PRGMR/222503843286?epid=1250535213 ?

Also I find in my local shop this USB To TTL Adapter FTDI FT232RL, jumper 3.3v-5v, USB, it will be okay ?
I just read that in case I use a 5V UART on a device where 3.3V need to be used it could blow the chip
On router back it says 24V-2.5A
If I need to provide some more info just say it and I will do it

Before you go buy a USB/serial board, I would recommend that you familiarize yourself with the method of unbricking for your particular router.

Yes, using 3.3V USB/serial board to communicate with another 3.3V serial port is an important consideration.

Some routers can be unbricked using a serial port - see tutorial here. Some routers can be unbricked using the LAN connector - see tutorial video here.

"On router back it says 24V-2.5A" That sounds like the power supply input that the router wants (the wall wart or whatever is supply that to the device). That information is good to know but is not going to be helpful with the unbricking.

So,
What router do you have - actual brand and part number?
What OS are you using?
What instructions are you going to follow to accomplish the unbricking?

If you can provide those answers, it would help.

muzun

Joined Jul 13, 2018
What router do you have - actual brand and part number?
UBNT EdgeRouter X
What OS are you using?
Windows I will use PuTTy
What instructions are you going to follow to accomplish the unbricking?
https://openwrt.org/toh/ubiquiti/ubiquiti_edgerouter_x_er-x_ka#opening_the_case
http://sector5d.org/openwrt-on-the-ubiquiti-edgerouter-x.html