What is the Eth and Zth For this circuit?

TJ Mahoney

Joined Dec 8, 2016
Can you ask your instructor what is the frequency?
No :)))) . There were two questions, multiple choice, about the circuit. One asked what the Eth was and the other asked what the Zth was. And that was it. It did imply that the circuit was to be used to plot the effect of frequency on the 50 ohm load. So I could graph it using different values of frequency. Seems a bit BS though. The writers of the lesson material ramble a lot, and it's difficult to find answers in the lesson. I can say I haven't used any of this crap since I learned it years ago. I'm a non-degreed Engineer that does System Testing. I don't design. I'm retired now and just trying to get a degree to say I did it.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
How do you figure that Zth is something in parallel with 60 Ω?

In making that claim, you are claiming that the presence of that 20 Ω resistance significantly influences the circuit as seen by that load. Does that make sense to all of your years of experience as a non-degreed engineer?

You don't need a frequency to find Eth or Zth, they will simple be frequency dependent. Which makes it pretty easy to turn around and plot them as a function of frequency, doesn't it.

What was the form of the answers given in the multiple choice options? If they weren't parameterize in frequency, then the next thing to check is whether only one of the answers offered was possible at any frequency. What's the smallest that Zth can be? What's the largest? Same for Eth.

TJ Mahoney

Joined Dec 8, 2016
How do you figure that Zth is something in parallel with 60 Ω?

In making that claim, you are claiming that the presence of that 20 Ω resistance significantly influences the circuit as seen by that load. Does that make sense to all of your years of experience as a non-degreed engineer?