What are my options for accomplishing 480V 3 Phase branch circuit protection?

Discussion in 'Power Electronics' started by ma77ken7, Dec 6, 2017.

1. ma77ken7

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 6, 2017
    Hi,

Designing a system that needs to distribute power to several motors at once. Motor quantity is highly variable and can range from 1 to 20 in a single system. Motors are 480V 3~ and are around 6kW. The biggest issue I'm facing is physical space of the components and how to solve branch circuit protection for wiring to motors. I am a mechanical engineer and very comfortable with general electrical work, but have very little knowledge in electronics design. My main question is, am I limited to designing around standard electrical panels and din rail mounted components? Or are there other components out there that would enable someone to design custom electronics at this high of power?

Thank you

2. Picbuster

Dec 2, 2013
    Use frequency / motor controllers and sync them. ( like Siemens, Eaton ).

Picbuster

3. tranzz4md

Apr 10, 2015
    #1:No
    #2: yes

So, there are typically 3 general schemes; MCCs, Distributed individual motor controllers, and custom control cabinets.
    --MCCs are most practical for integral horsepower and larger motors in groups up to 50.
    -Distributed is practical for indoor, in-plant installations of integral and fractional horsepower motors, and where changes are expected, but not substantial in sizes.
    - custom control cabinets are most typical and practical for integral and smaller motors, and where substantial changes in power bearing components are not likely.

I got very useful information, references, referrals, and help when I did some of my first systems years ago from my local Square D affiliated supply house (I think they're known as Schneider these days) but at least here in the USA, you're best off finding your local Electrical supply house that has the reputation for supplying industrial work.