Well pump check valve

Sulvek

Joined Aug 27, 2022
So I was reading instructions on a submersible well pump wich I do because I have been installing them my whole life. I was surprised to learn they wanted a check valve (one way water flow valve) at the pump it self and at ground level or below ground level where the plumbing meets the pressure tank. My question is why two? I have never heard of it and I certainly won't be installing two because I know it's not needed for long life span. I see pumps decades old all the time with only the check valve inside the pump it self. I was just curious why they want that. I'm no scientist but I know there are some in this forum. My only guess is extra protection. I some times install multiples of things like limit switches because there very cheap. Check valves are pretty spendy though. Thanks for any input.

Attachments

ronsimpson

Joined Oct 7, 2019
I don't have the latest plumbing code book, can not prove my point.
I need to prove that water in pipes can not back flow to the well or to the city supply. My water might have been sitting for a long time and not be safe. Normally I must add a Pressure Vacuum Breaker to stop back flow. In my case I did not want to add this to my system. My other option is to add two Check Valves, because they are not as reliable as a Breaker. A Vacuum Breaker opens if pressure is low or a vacuum is present and also stops back flow, (double action).

The inspector wants to see the two Check Valves. I argued that one Check Valve is at the motor that he could not see. It took a while to talk him into that.
1666584654860.png1666585405561.png

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
A check valve at the surface seems sensible to prevent possible contamination of the water column in the well from some cause at the surface.

LowQCab

Joined Nov 6, 2012
A second Check-Valve can also "spread-out" the Shock-Loads caused by Water-Hammer.
Water-Hammer can be extremely powerful.

SamR

Joined Mar 19, 2019