wave theory

Discussion in 'Physics' started by Phillip Lucas, Jun 13, 2017.

1. Phillip Lucas

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 13, 2017
    I am totally new to all this fun science stuff so was wondering something about radio waves. as this question is not about designing anything I thought it would be better here then anywhere else.

So I understand frequency is a peak to peak measurement of wave forms. I understand that most antennae are made to measure this waveform at the speed of light which radio waves travel at.
    My question is this... lets say its not a radio wave per se, that I am measuring. let say it is something that IS picked up on an antenna but is travelling slower than the speed of light. Will the receiver decrypt it or would it be bounced of as jargon?
    also if it is travelling slower than RF then the next question I have is would the antenna be able to correctly get the frequency?
    I mean if it is looking for something travelling at lightspeed and the frequency picked up is slower, would it not count the peak to peak wave and then calculate it at being a frequency based on lightspeed?

the reason I ask this is a friend has annoyed me with a question about certain frequencies, so I want to test some projects to prove they do travel at the same speed, but with different frequencies

2. BR-549

Distinguished Member

Sep 22, 2013
    I'm not sure I understand your question. Do you believe that the speed of a radio wave changes with the frequency?

3. Phillip Lucas

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 13, 2017
    NO the friend does. He is of the belief that light is not in the rf band as Radio would travel slower than light. He stated that is why we can't use antenna to pick up light but we can use it to pick up rf....... then he went on about magnetism (got that sorted for now)... lets say it was a long chat that has made me think I want to prove him wrong....