Voltage/Capacitors 8.48

mattcalder

Joined Mar 5, 2017
8-48.jpeg So I am new here and brand new to the subject and I was hoping for some help. I can get the Voltage across V1 by calculating the total capacitance of the caps and multiplying it by the voltage source to get the total charge, then dividing it into cap 1, but getting the voltages across the remaining caps escapes me. Please excuse my lack of knowledge, again, I am brand new to the subject. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!

More readable image:
upload_2017-3-5_9-52-57.png

If you weren't given any of the voltages (i.e. answers), how would you calculate the voltage across C1 (V1) and C2 (V2)? Once you know V2, calculating V3 and V4 is the same process.

Last edited:

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
You have capacitors in series and capacitors in parallel. Do you know how to find equivalent capacitance of two capacitors in parallel? Do you know how to find equivalent capacitance of two capacitors in series? Can you find equivalent capacitance of the whole circuit and then work backwards and applying voltage divider principal in the process?

Haven't you done the same with resistors already?

mattcalder

Joined Mar 5, 2017
Thank you all for your help and clues to this problem. It is very much appreciated. I realize I should have been more clear in where I'm at and what I know at this point in regards to circuitry.

So I know the equivalent capacitance of two capacitors in series and in parallel. If I am correct, let C1 and C2 be two capacitors. If they are in parallel, I add the capacitance values. If they are in series, I use the formula (1/C1 + 1/C2)^-1, the same formula for resistors in parallel (1/R1 + 1/R2)^-1. So what I've done so far is calculate the equivalent capacitance for the whole circuit of capacitors. This is what I've done. Let V1=C1 (300pF), V2=C2 (120pF), and so on: