Very basic resistors, but cannot figure them out

dapEK

Joined Oct 7, 2015
I'm a mechanical engineering student, so taking this course which has an electrical component is very hard to understand.

We were given a "black box" with four terminals sticking out of the top, and told to take the voltmeter and do a set of readings for each combination of terminals. 6 combinations total, and they are listed below:

Segment Resistance(Ω)
AB 500
AC 500
AD 11.4
BC 11.4
BC 499
DC 499

Then, the instructions are to find 6 equations that will give you the internal resistors. I have found 4 of those:

1/Rab= (1/AB ) + (1/ BC+CD+AD)
1/Rbc= (1/BC) + (1/ CD+AD+AB)
1/Rcd= (1/CD ) + (1/AD+AB+BC)
1/Rad= (1/AD ) + (1/ AB+BC+CD)

Now, I can't seem to figure out the last two? A classmate said that the last two had to do with if the arrangement inside is somehow diagonal. I don't understand how to get it from there.

dannyf

Joined Sep 13, 2015
Between four terminals, you can have six total connections / resistors. It is not difficult to solve them.

However, given the pattern of the readings, you know that they are only three uniquely valued resistors - or they wouldn't give symmetrical readings.

That greatly simplifies it for you.

dapEK

Joined Oct 7, 2015
I used the same theory to derive these two equations in case there's a diagonal arrangement:

1/Rac=(1/AC) +(1/AD+CD) +(1/BC+AB)

1/Rbd= (1/BD) +(1/BC+CD) + (1/AD+AB)

does this seem correct? it's all I can think of.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
I used the same theory to derive these two equations in case there's a diagonal arrangement:

1/Rac=(1/AC) +(1/AD+CD) +(1/BC+AB)

1/Rbd= (1/BD) +(1/BC+CD) + (1/AD+AB)

does this seem correct? it's all I can think of.
You need to learn about order of operations.

1/AD+CD = (1/AD) + CD

Get in the habit NOW of paying attention to these details -- it will save you MUCH grief down the road.