Vero board design for circuit diagram

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by rasikac, May 11, 2018.

  1. rasikac

    Thread Starter New Member

    May 11, 2018
    8
    0
    Hi,i want to simplyfy the veroboard disign for attaced circuit diagram or software to design
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 11, 2018
  2. bertus

    Administrator

    Apr 5, 2008
    18,483
    3,559
    Hello,

    You can not link images to your local harddisk.
    Please upload the image to the forum.

    Bertus
     
  3. ericgibbs

    Moderator

    Jan 29, 2010
    5,708
    1,057
    hi rasikac,
    Welcome to AAC.
    Do you have an existing vero board design image you could post, that we can suggest simplifying .?
    E
     
  4. AlbertHall

    AAC Fanatic!

    Jun 4, 2014
    6,380
    1,477
  5. jpanhalt

    Expert

    Jan 18, 2008
    6,318
    1,190
    I just use Eagle (mine is pre-version 8.0), set a 0.1" grid, make a rough outline of the strip board, and do routing in the usual manner, except there are no diagonals. I also use an X to denote either an implied connection that isn't or a cut in a trace. You might want to use top layer for existing copper traces and bottom for connecting wires. I use Kynar 24 awg for connections. Kynar is easy to strip, the insulation is thin, and it doesn't char or shrink back with normal soldering.
    upload_2018-5-11_6-21-10.png

    Here's a section of a board that was laid out that way:
    upload_2018-5-11_6-25-12.png

    The thing I like most is schematic capture. That way, you can be sure all connections are made and there are no wrong ones.

    John
     
  6. atferrari

    AAC Fanatic!

    Jan 6, 2004
    3,014
    1,118
    That is thinking out of the box, John! Have to try it that way.
     
  7. shortbus

    AAC Fanatic!

    Sep 30, 2009
    5,561
    3,177
    Hi, would you share what brand that board is, please? Or where it came from? I'm trying to make a circuit and that type of board would be ideal for what I want to do. All of the vero/strip boards I've seen just have the copper going from one edge to the other. I like the way that board has a center section going perpendicular to the edges.
     
  8. MaxHeadRoom

    Expert

    Jul 18, 2013
    15,874
    4,649
    Another program is LochMaster for Vero board layout and design.
    Max.
     
  9. jpanhalt

    Expert

    Jan 18, 2008
    6,318
    1,190
    I don't remember exactly. I got that version quite awhile ago. Nice, but not through-hole plated. It may be an early version from BusBoard.com (http://busboard.com/products).

    More recently, I have gotten virtually identical boards with plated holes from that vendor . Specifically, its SB4 Snappable PC BreadBoard. I have also used the boards from SparkFun. They sure are nice for anything that is not just for a quick experiment.

    Note that with the SF board #30 (small), the supply rail holes are staggered relative to the columns for devices. Therefore, I have to make a little hook on resistors and such so they line up to my satisfaction. ;)
    upload_2018-5-11_11-30-4.png

    The large SF board device does not have that "feature" and everything lines up nicely. It also has connections at the end for the supply rails. A #30 drill (preferably 135° angle, but 118° is OK) works great for cutting tracks and removing a plated pad. For just cutting a track between holes, I use a tiny burr in my Dremel.
     
    shortbus likes this.
  10. shortbus

    AAC Fanatic!

    Sep 30, 2009
    5,561
    3,177
    @ jpanhalt, thank you for the information! Will get some of them.
     
  11. rasikac

    Thread Starter New Member

    May 11, 2018
    8
    0
    please check,i attached the file
    Untitled.jpg

    145.jpg


    copper going from one edge to the othe

    Moderators note : removed double pictures.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 12, 2018
  12. bertus

    Administrator

    Apr 5, 2008
    18,483
    3,559
    Hello,

    Do you have a picture of the copper side of the PCB, where you did cut the traces?

    Bertus
     
  13. rasikac

    Thread Starter New Member

    May 11, 2018
    8
    0
     
  14. bertus

    Administrator

    Apr 5, 2008
    18,483
    3,559
    Hello,

    I mean copper side of the PCB you have soldered the parts.

    Bertus
     
  15. rasikac

    Thread Starter New Member

    May 11, 2018
    8
    0
    yes
     
  16. ericgibbs

    Moderator

    Jan 29, 2010
    5,708
    1,057
    hi r,
    We need see the cut tracks and soldering on the reverse side of the PCB.
    Tidied up your image.
    E
    145.jpg
     
    atferrari likes this.
  17. rasikac

    Thread Starter New Member

    May 11, 2018
    8
    0
     
    • cct.jpg
      cct.jpg
      File size:
      146.2 KB
      Views:
      9
  18. ericgibbs

    Moderator

    Jan 29, 2010
    5,708
    1,057
    hi,
    I would say your layout around the IC is OK.
    The rectifier diodes and smoothing caps could be moved closer to the IC group.
    Which part of the PCB layout do you think needs reworking.?

    I assume the PCB and circuit does actually work.?
    E
     
  19. rasikac

    Thread Starter New Member

    May 11, 2018
    8
    0
    Yes .Its ok.
     
  20. ericgibbs

    Moderator

    Jan 29, 2010
    5,708
    1,057
    hi r,
    Your posts are not giving us enough information to work with.
    Which part of the PCB layout do you think needs reworking.?
     
Loading...