TTL freqiency counter interface with a VFD (AC drive)

shoryashukla10

Joined Jan 12, 2017
Hello, I am working on a project involving use of TTL frequency counter to measure motor speed, as feedback to the VFD. The VFD will be monitored/ controlled by a PLC.

Please suggest what I should start studying specifically about this interface and what all topics should I cover.

I am fairly new to this. Thanks.

ScottWang

Joined Aug 23, 2012
VFD - Vacuum Fluorescent Display, is it right?
TTL frequency counter - using TTL logic ic to design the frequency counter?
as feedback to the VFD - is this meant to display on VFD?
So you involved with TTL ic, VFD driver, PLC?

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
VFD= Variable frequency 3ph motor drive?
What make of VFD is it, or has it not been decided?
Some have a configurable output for indicating different functions, but the current/rpm status is usually analogue.
There is also PLC's with 0-10v analogue control output to the VFD and a encoder input card for rpm.
But I am guessing you would like to do it the simplest way?
Max.

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
I install Allen-Bradley VFD for a living. They have little display that shows the frequency. I don't see the point of this exercise.

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
It would appear the OP wants to monitor RPM in order to control it with the PLC?
Max.
Maybe.
A-B VFD have ethernet port. Some setups we would have multiple VFD run to hub/switch and then from hub/switch connect to PLC. Other times we daisy chain the VFD using ethernet cables and then connect one VFD to the PLC. This is all A-B stuff. Kinda explains why A-B is so expansive, they do put money into making their product have all kinds of options.

shoryashukla10

Joined Jan 12, 2017
I'm working on my Master thesis work. The project involves connecting a Variable-frequency drive to a PLC system via EtherCAT which will in turn control a 3-phase induction motor.