Trying to mod a fader so its not "full off".

Patrick Elliott

Joined Oct 4, 2017
Now, first off, to be clear, I am a complete amateur at this, so I am going off of vague hypothesis and someone else's original schematic. I was also, up to this point, trying to use parts salvaged off of other stuff, so not sure if the leads on them are even connecting on the test board, so I can test it (I just ordered replacements from digikey for the ones that may be dead/not connecting right.

Anyway, there are a mess of these LED fader with 555 timers out there, using what seems to be called and a-stable state. So, what I am aiming at is two things, for a Halloween rig, neither of which is part of *any* of the designed that are already out there:

1. I need two "eyes" that don't blink at all.
2. A super-bright led that fades, but not all the way to off. This is for a hollow mouth that will glow and pulse.
3. For testing purposes, use a potentiometer to adjust the fade timing. I will replace this, of course, with the right ohm resister, once I have it fading the way I want.

So, my hypothesis is - connect the "eyes" so they are not part of the main circuit, but on the same battery, and then parallel resistors in the actual fader, so that when "off" it will still glow, at a low level, and when "on" it will be fully bright (more or less). Here is the circuit layout I came up with for this:

Circuit.png
So, am I right about this? According to an online resistance calculator, the result of using 3.3k ohm and 5.1k ohm should be "roughly" the original 2k ohm that the original had. But, I have no clue, at all, if this might somehow effect the timer/fader part of the circuit in some unpredictable way. And, until I get my new parts, I am not even sure why the thing isn't doing anything at all, but, I suspect the leads on both the transistor and the capacitor are so short they just are not contacting anything in the test board.

Joined Nov 30, 2010