Trying to learn digital control for switching power supplies.

vichiker

Joined Oct 26, 2012
Hello Everybody. My name is Victor Castrellon. I am a power electronics engineer. I am am trying to learn how to design the controller stage of switching converters is the digital domain. I know how to do it using classic control theory. Can anybody gave me a clue about an easy to use kit for the to learn it? Thank you

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Not sure what you are referring to "using classical control theory". That would imply systems with continuous linear time invariant dynamics. An SMPS is definitely not one of those. In the digital domain there is one bit of information that is useful in decision making, and that is if the output voltage is above or below some threshold. There is also one digital output bit, which controls the switch. If the output voltage is above, you open the switch and if it is below you close the switch. You might also have time delay elements with is another non-linear element to consider. So I'm at a loss to understand what you think you are missing.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
I assume you are referring to the analog PID feedback loop of a typical PWM switching regulator.
Papabravo appears to be describing a hysteretic (bang-bang) control loop which is a different animal, and doesn't generally require any loop compensation.

This PID loop can be emulated with a digital controller, and that is sometimes done.
An alternate approach is to use a Fuzzy Logic control loop in a microprocessor.
I don't know of any "easy to use" kit to learn these, as they are both reasonably complex.
Suggest you do a google search for these topics.

schmitt trigger

Joined Jul 12, 2010
What he means is that a conventional feedback loop compensation creates the required poles and zeroes utilizing resistors and capacitors.

But newer systems realize the same function with a DSP core.
Similar to realizing analog vs digital filters.

schmitt trigger