treadmill conversion

Thread Starter

1stfrodo

Joined Oct 30, 2015
22
Hello, This is my first post, I did not see a get acquainted or introduce forum.
being new, I most likely over looked it.
If I have made a grievious error PLEASE forgive this unworthy newbie !!!!


My name is Frodo, I am a plumber, and a tinkerer..I am working on a small project that I need some help on.
First, I can wire a house, and I have built a 22o controller for a big cray fish pot
but do not know anything about circuit boards.

I am attempting to turn a golds gym treadmill in to a tumbler'

attached are pictures of the board, the motor
in first picture, I have numbered what i think is power to the board. If i cut #1 cap the board, install a pin/wire

is this the power for the motor less all the other junk.

all i want is power..I will buy a potentometer to change speed..

OR.If any way I can use what I have?
I also have the control panel.
WITH a mp-3 player and speakers..I dont need it or want it
also a NICE fan and motor for the inclinepower strip 001.JPG treadmill 002.JPG treadmill 001.JPG treadmill 006.JPG treadmill 005.JPG treadmill 004.JPG tread mill 004.JPG tread mill 003.JPG tread mill 002.JPG tread mill 001.JPG
more on theses freebies later
Can you guys help me out????
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
19,006
Is there any numbers on the board, it looks familiar, you should be able to hook power directly up to the board, there were basically two types of control, one is a simple pot, the other a PWM signal from a separate circuit.
Generally these T.M. boards require zero start position on the pot before the motor will turn.
Max.
 

Thread Starter

1stfrodo

Joined Oct 30, 2015
22
what has me stumped..the motor is 115 v DC I have to use this board OR buy a ac/dc converter
 

Thread Starter

1stfrodo

Joined Oct 30, 2015
22
.
where is the manual?

and yes, the schematic if possible Please?


do you have a use for the fan, mp3 player or the incline motor/actuator

and all the rest of electronics this has? a led screen ETC
 

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
9,647
Not relevant but I cannot help it. :D

Is your name really "Frodo" o_O. I thought that was made up name for TLOTR.

Back to topic. If the POT is the control device then you can use the controller to drive the motor.

Where is the manual Max ?
 

Thread Starter

1stfrodo

Joined Oct 30, 2015
22
yes i was going to control it with a pot

I googled and found this is the ac/dc converter

so i guess all i need to do is use that

If I cut at the red circle, install a wire. is that all i need for power?


RIFF.....no my name is not Frodo it is a secret, I'll pm
 

Attachments

Thread Starter

1stfrodo

Joined Oct 30, 2015
22
Hate to admit it, but you guys are going to have to dumb it down.

i am a plumber, not an electrical whiz like you.

I can do electrical work, but it is wireing a building not a board.

here is a control I made. My only dabble into electronics
 

Attachments

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
8,373
Ok do you want to remove the treadmill running motor and control the speed separately, you can use the motor speed pcb that came with it, or make your own using a simple light dimmer and a bridge rectifier?
 
Last edited:

Thread Starter

1stfrodo

Joined Oct 30, 2015
22
while i was on the phone, I spotted an old ac/dc convertr i had for a cooler

i cut the the cigerete lighter end off of it, and the motor is humming like a happy little bird

to control it. you
said a recitifer? is that a recitifer? the 1R 829P ? in the middle of the screen?

if it is, do i unsolder it. then solder it to the blk wire on the dimmer
if so..their are 3 stubs ! 2 3 which 2 do i use. 1 and 3 cut 2 off?

also...would it be between the dimmer and motor? 3d78ddcc89ef683226ccea312e96ed94.jpg
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
19,006
Your T.M. drive is the better bet for a drive, it is PWM output over a Triac and bridge bridge control which starts to get noisy when you lower the rpm.
The IR semi's are Mosfets.
Max.
 
Last edited:

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
8,373
If your going to use the treadmill pcb for speed control, you need to look at the circuit on post#11, which i dont think you have the technical ability to do, no offence!, as it involves pulsed timing from the micro to feed the thyristor bridge rectifier for speed control, if you feel confident to go ahead with this then lets go that way,

otherwise
use the light dimmer application i posted.#14
 

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
9,647
Where's Samwise Gamjee ? :D
if you do not have one, you need to find him in AAC. He is always there for Frodo.
 

Thread Starter

1stfrodo

Joined Oct 30, 2015
22
Where's Samwise Gamjee ? :D
if you do not have one, you need to find him in AAC. He is always there for Frodo.
He tried to steal the gold ring and was dispatched with extreme prejudice.

I think,,doggydave is correct in assessing my abilities. NO offence tak'n.

truth is the truth, so the dimmer switch is the prudent path to take.

I finished building it, it runs with out any control.

I Do not like it with out controlfinished tumbler 002.JPG
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
19,006
You have the PWM board I am not sure why you would not try it?
BTW what is a 220 controller for a cray fish pot? Need that to raise it?
Max.
 
Top