Treadmill - blowing house fuse

Thread Starter

mark230678

Joined Feb 26, 2021
9
Hi.

I am new to the forum, but have had a look around trying to solve my problem.

I was using the treadmill yesterday, happily running along and increased the speed, it proceeded to turn off.

Switched it back on and off- nothing.

Went to the manual, checked the reset and then changed the fuse in the plug.

Switched on and the house fuse blew.

Disconnected from the electrics and began to try and isolate the issue.

Unplugged the lead and turned power on. - All OK

Power goes to adaptor block, AC?

Then to PCB and then to motor.

Disconnected power to motor and power stays on, am able to press the buttons on the console, but obviously motor does not turn.

Interestingly incline doesn't work. But unsure if motor needs connecting fro this to happen. (I wasn't using incline when running.)

I can connect 12v via a car battery to the motor and it works without problems, spinning freely.

What is my next option??

Thanks for having a read.

The model is a Domyos TC-7.
 

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
12,678
Welcome to AAC!
What is my next option??
It appears that the motor is drawing too much current. Make sure nothing is impeding any parts the motor moves.

Connecting to a car battery could have caused problems. Car batteries aren't current limited and something bad could have happened. The fuse in your house wiring is protecting you from those bad things.
 

Thread Starter

mark230678

Joined Feb 26, 2021
9
Hi

Thanks for the welcome.

The house electrics blew before testing with the battery.

It runs off the battery with belt on and off.

Model for the board

FF05W108944

MC2100ELS - 16W

279167
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
22,641
The LED constantly lit points to no signal from console.
Incline also gets its command from the console,
Does the power stay on with motor connected now, just does not run?
Test for L.V. DC on HD2 pins 1 & 2
Max.
 

Thread Starter

mark230678

Joined Feb 26, 2021
9
If the motor is connected, and the power is turned on.

It blows immediately.

Don't even get a chance to do anything with the treadmill.
 

Thread Starter

mark230678

Joined Feb 26, 2021
9
Cheers Max.

Will be back in a few days, on 4 shifts after today.

Got to try and find a lamp.

I assume connect wires to board and then to lamp??
 

Thread Starter

mark230678

Joined Feb 26, 2021
9
In the absence of a lamp is there anything else i can use.

I have attatched a lamp, but it has an enefgy saving bulb.

It lights up without blowing the house fuses.

It lights up and then goes out
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
22,641
You really need to slide the board out of the heat sink frame and test the semi conductors fastened to the H.S.
I assume it blows, even if a low speed is programmed?
Max.
 

Thread Starter

mark230678

Joined Feb 26, 2021
9
If the motor is attatched, the fuse blows as soon as it is powered up.

With the lamp on i can select speeds on the control panel without problems.

On another note, the incline doesnt work now either, is that dependent on a signal from the board?
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
22,641
The incline get a signal direct from the console through the HD2 connector.
It looks like the lamp is offering a soft start alternative to the motor, where if full voltage is applied is a dead short to a stationary load, (motor c/w flywheel).
You may have two problems there.
A bit coincidental, but you may have a blown Mosfet AND a triac!
 

Thread Starter

mark230678

Joined Feb 26, 2021
9
I replaced a the parts connected to the heatsink.
And to my surprise, it worked.

For about a minute.

Before going back to square one.
Switch on and it trips main breaker
 
Top