Touch sensor - without analog reading

Captain E

Joined Jun 16, 2015
Hello!
I've got a project in mind, where I'd need many more inputs than the Arduino UNO can provide. I've got a I2C I/O expander, MCP23018, which I'm still learning through my last post, (which I'm not quite done with yet) but I feel very close to what I need from it.

Back to my project, I would need some kind of switch, and many of them. I can attach, for example, switch buttons to the MCP23018 and read them as digital inputs.

I'll go with switch buttons if I have to, but what I really want are some capasitive sensors. I've used these before and know how to make, use and understand them.

But the problem is that I need analog reading for capasity sensors, something the MCP23018 can't provide.

SO my question is:

Are there any good way of making capasitive sensors withouts having to read analog inputs?

Maybe I can change the logic levels of a digital input (from my I2C device) enough so the reading goes from LOW->HIGH with some extra capasitance, from a finger?

If not, I'll make some cool manual switches, but maybe there is some way :)

Thanks!
~ Cappy E

Joined Nov 30, 2010
A simple jfet wired as a class A amplifier will turn finger hum into square waves in one stage. My favorite is J210 at 200 ua IDSS. Just put a meg and a nanaofarad in series with the gate and bingo. It's a digital hum sensor.

Joined Nov 30, 2010