The IC keeps buring out in 555 timer synthesizer

cooldude1988

Joined Jun 19, 2017
C3 is supposed to be .1 uF not 10 uF on the schematic sorry for the mistake. I am trying to create a synthesizer with a single 555 timer chip using the schematic I uploaded (it's a modified version of this). I want it to be modular (I think that's the right term for it) so I can add resistors and buttons at C3 to make different noises. For some reason the timer itself keeps getting hot and stops working properly and has to be replaced with another one, which ends up doing the same thing. I am fairly new to circuits and was wondering if there is something I should change with the circuit to prevent this from happening. I'd also like to know what the resistors and capacitors in this are actually there for. Thanks!
circuit.JPG

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
8 ohms is too low a resistance for a load on a 555 output. Besides being poorly drawn, this is a serious flaw in the schematic you started with. Change to a 32 or 60 ohm speaker like what is used in some headphones, or use a small audio output transformer.

Separate from that, a 555 output cannot swing very close to its Vcc, so the peak-to-peak output voltage will be only around 3 V. A CMOS 555 is better, but its output stage can handle even less current that a bipolar 555.

ak

cooldude1988

Joined Jun 19, 2017
8 ohms is too low a resistance for a load on a 555 output. Besides being poorly drawn, this is a serious flaw in the schematic you started with. Change to a 32 or 60 ohm speaker like what is used in some headphones, or use a small audio output transformer.

Separate from that, a 555 output cannot swing very close to its Vcc, so the peak-to-peak output voltage will be only around 3 V. A CMOS 555 is better, but its output stage can handle even less current that a bipolar 555.

ak