Tex rendering engine not working in Chrome?

Discussion in 'Feedback and Suggestions' started by WBahn, Nov 25, 2017.

  1. WBahn

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    23,158
    6,972
    It appears that the MimeTex rendering engine is not working in the Chrome browser.

    I am using Version 62.0.3202.94 (Official Build) (64-bit)

    The following tex code renders as shown below:


    [tex]
    Z_{23} \; = \; \frac{\(10 \; + \; j10\) \; \Omega}{-j12 \; \Omega}
    [/tex]


    TexError.png

    @jrap: Can you confirm this behavior?
     
  2. MrChips

    Moderator

    Oct 2, 2009
    17,314
    5,331
    This is the tex code:

    [tex]
    Z_{23} \; = \; \frac{\(10 \; + \; j10\) \; \Omega}{-j12 \; \Omega}
    [/tex]

    Tex rendering:

    <br />
Z_{23} \; = \; \frac{\(10 \; + \; j10\) \; \Omega}{-j12 \; \Omega}<br />


    This is what I see in Chrome:

    tex_output.jpg
     
  3. WBahn

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    23,158
    6,972
    @MrChips: Thanks for the info.

    What is the "Tex rendering" line that you are referring to? Is that something copied from my post, or something generated by your tex code?

    What version of Chrome are you using?

    Mine claims it's up to date. I know it used to render in Chrome without any problem. I started having problems a while back, but it seemed intermittent. In hind sight, I think it was working in IE but not in Chrome and I just didn't make the correlation until recently.
     
  4. MrChips

    Moderator

    Oct 2, 2009
    17,314
    5,331
    The tex rendering will depend on whatever system and browser you are using.

    The jpg image is a copy off my screen which is Chrome 49.0.2623.112m running on Win XP.

    Interestingly, I am now running Chrome 61.0.3.163.100 (32-bit) on Win 8.1 and the tex code is not being rendered.

    This is what I see:

    <br /> Z_{23} \; = \; \frac{\(10 \; + \; j10\) \; \Omega}{-j12 \; \Omega}<br />
     
  5. WBahn

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    23,158
    6,972
    Okay, so I'm NOT going crazy.

    I'm using Win7 -- and have been for over five years, including when it was definitely rendering correctly.

    So it is for sure that upgrading Chrome beyond some version is sufficient to break the rendering engine on some O/S's.
     
  6. bertus

    Administrator

    Apr 5, 2008
    18,682
    3,633
    Hello,

    Let me try in FireFox Quantum 57.0 on linux OpenSuse Tumbleweed:

    <br />
Z_{23} \; = \; \frac{\(10 \; + \; j10\) \; \Omega}{-j12 \; \Omega}<br />

    Screenshot:

    Tex rendering engine not working in Chrome .png

    Bertus
     
  7. WBahn

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    23,158
    6,972
    Thanks, bertus.

    I haven't had any problem in FireFox or IE (yet).
     
  8. PsySc0rpi0n

    Well-Known Member

    Mar 4, 2014
    1,433
    9
    Hello...

    I think in my Chrome (Version 64.0.3282.167 (Official Build) (64-bit)) that I'm running under Linux, there is a little trick that seems to make tex code works.

    I've tested this myself and it worked in my case.

    Seems that there is the habit of hitting "enter" after the opening "tex" tag and then we paste the text code and finally we close the tex tag in the next line following last tex code line like this:

    'tex' >hit enter<
    tex code here
    '/tex'

    This seems not to work in my case.
    Solution is not to hit >enter< after the opening tag like this:

    'tex' tex code here '/tex'

    Give it a try!

    PS: there is also a property that in some cases helps to render fractions and other larger expressions which is 'displaystyle{}' embracing all tex code!


    Examples:

    with enter at opening tag
    <br />
\frac{1}{2}<br />

    without enter at opening tag and without displaystyle
    \frac{1}{2}

    without enter at opening tag and with displaystyle
    \displaystyle{\frac{1}{2}}
     
  9. WBahn

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    23,158
    6,972
    That's good to know. It's a shame that the new version of Chrome requires these kinds of games, but at least it's nice to know that there might be a way to get it to work.
     
  10. MrChips

    Moderator

    Oct 2, 2009
    17,314
    5,331
    All three versions display correctly on Win XP and Chrome Version 49.0.2623.112 m.
    and on iPad Safari.
     
  11. WBahn

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    23,158
    6,972
    I don't find it surprising that it works on Chrome v49. It used to work fine in Chrome. It's the NEW version of Chrome that broke it.
     
Loading...