Teaching an old dog new tricks.

RexR35630

Joined Dec 9, 2023
Hello Everyone,

My name is Rex and I'm new to AAC.
I am just beginning my learning of electronics. I've been a systems administrator, MCSE, know all about networking, workstations, servers and databases and websites. But I've always wanted to learn about electronics.

I'm not sure if ACC is for beginners. Looking at the forum topics it seems out of my league when I'm just trying to nail down Ohm's law.
I don't want to bother this forums with simplistic questions and beginners concepts, but I am looking for a forum that I can ask my questions regarding electronics. I don't want to ask how do you know which resistor to use to turn on a LED with a 5v source in the"FPGA's" forum when I don't even know what a "Field Programmable Gate Array) is.....YET.

I have many questions regarding online courses, circuit simulators, and just basic beginners questions and I don't want to bother you guys with these things if I need to be on a different forum, or post things in the wrong topic and aggravating everyone.

So if you have any advice for me and wanna spend the time to respond to this post I would greatly appreciate it.
Stickys I need to read? Other sites to check out? Recommend courses on the fundamentals electronics?

Thanks
~Rex

P.S. My wife bought me a Oscilloscope last year for Christmas, I don't know how to use it, it's still in the box. Asking for a Variable Power Supply this year. Maybe I'll get further along this year. LOL, Merry Christmas!

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!

Recommend courses on the fundamentals electronics?
It'll be difficult for you until you build some sort of foundation. Make sure you understand the basics like Ohm's Law because that's the foundation you'll be building on.

Until then, enjoy trying to drink from a fire hose.
Asking for a Variable Power Supply this year.