Tame the charging of a capacitor by using a tuned circuit

Mark Flint

Joined Jun 11, 2017
Does this concept work: adding impedance in the form of a tuned parallel circuit in order to tame the current draw of a charging capacitor?
I think the harmonics are produced by capacitor charge spikes. I've seen this on this type of circuit before with a spectrum analyser.
The purpose is to find an efficient way to stop the many harmonics this sort of rectifying circuit produces.
The tank circuit might add ringing (?) but perhaps this would be easier to filter out than the big cap effect.
This is not for a specific circuit right now, just a concept. But down the road I want to power 30w 60v LEDs.

circuit.JPG

I'm not good with simulators.

Thanks, Mark

Last edited:

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
By blocking the DC component of the rectifier output you have completely defeated the original purpose of making a DC power supply. The spikes you are seeing may or may not be real. They are sometimes artifacts of uncompensated scope probes.

Last edited:

Mark Flint

Joined Jun 11, 2017
By blocking the DC component of the rectifier output you have completely defeated the original purpose of making a DC power supply. the spikes you are seeing may or may not be real. They are sometimes artifacts of uncompensated scope probes.
So this would completely block the DC pulses? The circuit I drew is theoretical. I was thinking perhaps a tuned circuit that was not in perfect resonance would allow some current through, depending on how far out of resonance the tank circuit was. But I think what you're saying is the resulting current would be sine. Would a diode between the tank circuit and the smoothing cap work?

Mark Flint

Joined Jun 11, 2017
What are you actually seeing - say, on a scope - and what do you want to see instead?