switching state of a NC output to NO with a relay

Thread Starter

nadeemchughtai

Joined Dec 18, 2019
7
I have a NO/NC switch and I close it it get a NC output. When I get a another NC input from another device, I would like the first NC switch output to go open. Can anybody please help please. I can do it with an arduino board but I was looking for a possibly using a relay?
 

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
21,309
Get a relay that has double-throw contacts.

Wire your first switch to supply power to your new relay.
Now you have a double-throw switch to choose as you please.
 

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
5,288
I have a NO/NC switch and I close it it get a NC output. When I get a another NC input from another device, I would like the first NC switch output to go open. Can anybody please help please. I can do it with an arduino board but I was looking for a possibly using a relay?
Can you re-word this? I cannot understand what you want.
 

Thread Starter

nadeemchughtai

Joined Dec 18, 2019
7
Can you re-word this? I cannot understand what you want.
I have 2 dry contact inputs, Input 1 has no voltage open or closed , input 2 has 12 volts when open and 0 volts when closed. I would like the following results:
Input 1 Input 2 Output
open open open
open closed open
closed open closed
closed closed open

Can I possibly use a relay with Input 1 being a SPST switch?
 

Thread Starter

nadeemchughtai

Joined Dec 18, 2019
7
Can you re-word this? I cannot understand what you want.
Will this work with the following requirments:

I have 2 dry contact inputs, Input 1 has no voltage open or closed , input 2 has 12 volts when open and 0 volts when closed. I would like the following results:
Input 1 Input 2 Output
open open open
open closed open
closed open closed
closed closed open

Can I possibly use a relay with Input 1 being a SPST switch?
 

Thread Starter

nadeemchughtai

Joined Dec 18, 2019
7
Get a relay that has double-throw contacts.

Wire your first switch to supply power to your new relay.
Now you have a double-throw switch to choose as you please.
Will this work for the following requirements:

I have 2 dry contact inputs, Input 1 has no voltage open or closed , input 2 has 12 volts when open and 0 volts when closed. I would like the following results:
Input 1 Input 2 Output
open open open
open closed open
closed open closed
closed closed open

Can I possibly use a relay with Input 1 being a SPST switch?
 

eetech00

Joined Jun 8, 2013
1,936
I have a NO/NC switch and I close it it get a NC output. When I get a another NC input from another device, I would like the first NC switch output to go open. Can anybody please help please. I can do it with an arduino board but I was looking for a possibly using a relay?
Can you provide a part number or schematic of the switch, or switches, so we know exactly what were working with?
 

GetDeviceInfo

Joined Jun 7, 2009
1,729
Will this work for the following requirements:

I have 2 dry contact inputs, Input 1 has no voltage open or closed , input 2 has 12 volts when open and 0 volts when closed. I would like the following results:
Input 1 Input 2 Output
open open open
open closed open
closed open closed
closed closed open

Can I possibly use a relay with Input 1 being a SPST switch?
Only the device and its intended operation could tell you what happens when it receives an input on its dry contact input. What constitutes your output?
 
Top