Software Engineer creating first PCB for wall mounted led patterns

blubagoo

Joined Jan 3, 2022
As the title suggest this is a first draft of a custom PCB by yours truly. So as you may notice, I'm not an electrical engineer just a hobbyist. I used EasyEDA for this project, and to the best of my knowledge selected the right parts from LCSC component library. I would love if someone could take a look and let me know if this project looks ok? It has been prototyped and is a for sure working circuit( as long as the parts are the same as what I am using ). I am using an external 5V 5a power supply but eventually want to add a second to the input here so i need the trace width to support 10A and im not sure that its currently set up for that. The 10a is for only the power supply lines, the data line is only coming from an arduino.

This is going to be sent to JLCPCB for their smt service, so all the parts have been checked to include a SMT flag from EasyEDA. I also was wondering if anyone has used their 3d printing for building an enclosure for it. I included mounting holes on the pcb so the enclosure could mount the board and the enclosure would also need holes for the shrouded external connections.

P.S. Please forgive me for incorrect terminology, not-so best practices, and all that is holy to you ( that im treading all over ) awesome engineers. Thanks in advance!

pcbDraft1.PNGschematicDraft1.PNG

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
Only a couple comments: There seems to be a lot of empty space on the board. Beware of heat from the resistors damaging the board.

blubagoo

Joined Jan 3, 2022
Only a couple comments: There seems to be a lot of empty space on the board. Beware of heat from the resistors damaging the board.
So should I space them out a bit more so it doesn't get so hot? To clarify too, the resistors will not be running 10a through it, as its only for the data transmission line from an Arduino. I don't know the exact amperage but I know its pretty small.