SMD Soldering

Hymie

Joined Mar 30, 2018
I recently posted a question seeking a surface-mount adapter board for an IC (to allow through-hole solder connection).

I’ve now received the adapter board and I’m seeking advice on soldering the surface mount IC to the board – which I’ve never done before.

The surface mount adapter board has the solder pads pre-tinned. I’m planning to glue the IC in position and then use a heat gun (with a fine nozzle) to apply sufficient heat to each pin to make the solder connection with the pre-tinned pads. To me this seems a better option than using a soldering iron which is likely to result in solder bridges between pins.

Any advice/tips on soldering the surface-mount IC to the board would be gratefully received.

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
You are taking about “reflow” and you will need to put solder on the pads. Glue is not a good idea, hold the part with tweezers. You will also need flux.

There are many videos on YouTube which can give you an idea what to expect.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
You can hand solder SMD using a soldering iron with a fine tip and fine diameter solder.

You don't need glue.

Create a tiny solder blob on one corner pad (better if it is away from the IC footprint itself.
Position the IC over the footprint. Apply heat from the soldering iron and allow the solder blob to melt and secure that pin.

Go around the IC and solder all the other pins. You don't need a lot of solder. Use a flux dispensing pen to help the solder to flow.

1625779236702.png

SamR

Joined Mar 19, 2019