Slayer exciter circuit not working properly

EthanWu0131

Joined Jan 16, 2024
Hi, this is my first time posting here, I was trying to build a slayer exciter circuit, and had some problems.

Here are my components:
- 33 SWG magnet wire as secondary coil with 300 turns
- 21 SWG magnet wire as primary coil with 3 turns
- 22k ohm resistor
- 9V battery
- KN2222A transistor(I see most people use 2N2222, but I believe they are the same besides packaging)
Also I followed this schematic(I used a LED as the diode):Screenshot_2024_0115_235222.jpg

My problem is when I connect the battery the LED(diode) lights up, but when I put a florescent bulb near the coil the bulb doesn't light up.
I read online that if the LED(diode) lights up that means the circuit is oscillating as normal, so I guessed the problem is with not enough power, but I am certain I have more than enough power, so that lead me here.
If anyone has any idea of how to fix this or what's wrong, please let me know, my goal is for the florescent bulb to light up, thanks!
IMG_20240116_205315.jpg
IMG_20240116_205251.jpg
These are the circuits, hope it helps.

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Welcome to AAC!
1) It's hard to tell from your pic, but according to this datasheet your transistor connections appear wrong.
2) have you removed the enamel insulation from the ends of your magnet wire?
3) Is the polarity of your LED correct?
4) With only 3 turns on the primary coil the current drawn from the battery amounts to almost a short circuit current. That poor little battery may not be able to cope.

Last edited:

EthanWu0131

Joined Jan 16, 2024
Welcome to AAC!
1) It's hard to tell from your pic, but according to this datasheet your transistor connections appear wrong.
2) have you removed the enamel insulation from the ends of your magnet wire?
3) Is the polarity of your LED correct?