Simple LED 3.7V circuit?

Ludilo

Joined Mar 19, 2015
Hello everybody.
I'm complete newbie to electronics, yet I would like to build simple and effective bicycle light.

The components are:
1. 1 x 3.7V, 350mAh, 25C LiPo battery
2. 3 x 3.4V, Ultra-bright, 5mm, 18000mcd, 20mA LEDs
3. 1x 22 Ohms resistor
4. 1 x latching switch

My questions are:
1. What is the optimal resistor value and setup (Serial, Parallel.. common R, separate R)?
2. How to keep the voltage steady for 3.4V LEDs (which should be 3.4V, I ques)?

The battery is 3.7V, but when full, it is almost 4.2V, and off course,when connected to LEDs, voltage drops after some time well bellow 3.7V.
Also, with 4.12V, full battery and 22 Ohms resistor, the voltage across the resistor and one LED is 4.06V, more or less.

So, my question is how to keep the voltage steady and keep LEDs working on right voltage while having optimal battery efficiency?

Thanks.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
You operate LEDs at constant current, not constant voltage.

An appropriate series resistance is (4.2V - 3.4V)/20mA = 40Ω

If the battery voltage drops to 3.8V, then (3.8V - 3.4V)/20mA = 20Ω

So use a separate 22Ω resistor in series with each LED. Then connect each resistor and LED combo in parallel cross the battery.

Three LEDs will draw 3 x 20mA = 60mA.
Your 350mAh battery will run for 350mAh/60mA = 6 hours.
The LEDs might stay bright for less than that, about 3 hours.

Ludilo

Joined Mar 19, 2015
Hi MrChips.
Thank you for the reply.
I have to buy some 22Ω resistors and try them.
Should I be worried about the initial 4.2 voltage?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
For a bicycle light, consider using a simple CMOS 555 timer circuit using LMC555 or TLC555.
Your battery will last twice as long and you wouldn't need series resistors.

Mind you, just using series resistors for continuous illumination is simple enough.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
...I would like to build simple and effective bicycle light.

The components are: