Sewing machine motor RPM reduction.

RokoTheMoko

Joined Sep 18, 2017
Hello there!

I am trying to fix my grandmother's sewing machine, replacing the old motor with a new one. The old motor worked at 4.500 rpm, so I figured I would try and find a similar one. Thus I did, but I was sent a different motor than the one I ordered and this one works at 10.000 rpm. It's too fast for the sewing machine so I figured I would try to reduce, besides the pedal itself, the output rpm (I am trying not to do it using pulleys or gears because of space). I have basic knowledge of electrics and electronics and I am ready to learn and investigate to fulfil this project, but I don't really know how to start.

I will attach some pictures of the motor and the pedal as well as extra information about the motor.

GOAL:

Reduce the rpm of the motor in half and be able to still use the pedal to control the velocity of the motor. The maximum rpm being reduced to half of the initial 10.000. Basically I want to use the pedal to control the motor's velocity being able to make it spin at a max. velocity of 5000 rpm

I want to thank you for taking your time reading the thread, I hope you will be able to help me!

Manex

Attachments

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Ar that RPM and the fact it appears to have brushes, most likely the same kind of Universal motor, a simple ceiling fan 'dimmer' could be used, if you insert a series resistor in the dimmer pot you could restrict the rpm range.
The other way is to use a larger pulley.
There is also many dimmer circuits out there if wishing to build one.
Max.

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
Most sewing machine foot pedals are resistance controlled, in series with the motor. You could be better off with a simple light dimmer or fan controller.

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018