Separate mixed Power Signal into two wires, for my project "Death Beam 2.0"

Thread Starter

dr.evil

Joined Aug 18, 2010
80
Sorry, I haven't been able to follow this forum for some years, I have been lying in a Cryo state thanks to that blithering idiot Mr. Powers.

Anyway, I'm back with a vengeance, and now I need to finish my "laser" once and for all.

I have a power signal with a 5V DC level, and on occasion there are some sinusoidal bursts of (max 1 ms) at ~1KHz with a ±100V amplitude.

Now, I would like to separate the burst from the DC level. by separating I mean into two separate wires, not just put a cap on and block DC, I need both signals. Can anyone of my supporters here for world domination guide me in the right direction?

Evil regards
Dr.Evil
 

Marley

Joined Apr 4, 2016
360
Well, I don't support world domination but filters are what you need. On the 5VDC power output you need a series inductor followed by a parallel capacitor. This will stop the 1kHz from getting through. BTW: the inductor may have to be quite large in that it needs to have a large enough inductance and a very low DC resistance. Depends on the 5VDC current.
On the sinewave output you need a series capacitor and a parallel resistor (to charge the capacitor to the initial 5V and remove and residual DC).
 

Thread Starter

dr.evil

Joined Aug 18, 2010
80
Well, I don't support world domination but filters are what you need.
My dear, all that help me to achieve my life long ambition will be spared and have a place in my world domination HQ, where willing virgins will serve wine and food from an cornucopia all day (and night) long, and NO taxes. Your coupon code is: "SAVEME"

However the problem with your kind suggestion is that 5v and 1KHz is on the SAME WIRE, I want to separate them into TWO WIRES.
 

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
6,584
Put your DC + 1 Khz in on the left side of this circuit below and DC will come out the right side.
upload_2017-9-15_21-49-1.png

Also feed your DC + 1 kHz signal into the left side of the circuit below and take your 1 kHz signal from the right side.
upload_2017-9-15_21-50-8.png
 

Thread Starter

dr.evil

Joined Aug 18, 2010
80
Dick, I like your signature.

I'm not absolutely sure it will do the trick, since the 5v and 1KHz come from two different sources, like this:

EDIT: Seems I can't upload pictures, here's the circuit https://ibb.co/jabFdk
 

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
20,752
Hello,

When you are having trouble with uploading files to the system, disable the flash uploader:

options in profile.png

Here is the image you wanted to post:

evil_Screenshot_from_2017_09_15_17_06_35.png

Bertus
 

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
6,584
You can also use the high pass and low pass filters to combine the two signals so the two generators (5V and 1 kHz) do not "hurt" each other, after being combined they can be sent down a cable and split back out at the other end.
 

Thread Starter

dr.evil

Joined Aug 18, 2010
80
Thank you Dick,

Unfortunately there is nothing that can be done about the way the DC + 1KHz are connected, this is what I have to work with, they are part of a bigger thingamajig.
 

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
20,752
Hello,

@Marley already gave you an idea in post #2.
Here is a sketch of his idea:

signal splitter.png

As said, the frequency of the AC is quite low, so a large inductor must be used.

Bertus
 
Top