Reversing Motor Waste Compactor

Discussion in 'Technical Repair' started by Bargemanmac, Aug 12, 2017.

1. Bargemanmac

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 12, 2017
    Hi Gents
    I am new to this but thought maybe somebody could help, a friend has an old Pakmaster (UK out of business now) 240 volt kitchen waste compactor.
    it used to drive down the screw with a motor and rubber belt onto pulleys, get to the bottom, compact and the motor would reverse back up to a switch and turn off, there is no switch at the bottom as the height is variable to tell the motor to reverse.
    The problem is it doesnt reverse now just keeps trying to drive down, my question is how does the motor reverse and any ideas what has failed, the only components are basically on/ off switch , program start, top limit switch, bin in position switch, contactor and a relay, i suspect the latter 2 are the problem but would like to know how it works (no wiring diagram) i will try to attach a pic of the relay and contactor.
    Thanks in anticipation

2. AlbertHall

Distinguished Member

Jun 4, 2014
    The datasheet for the contactor shows an accessory overload relay on the last page. Does the compactor include one of these?

It may be that the method for detecting 'fully compacted' was that the motor current increased with the extra loading.

If this is the case then maybe whatever sensed the overload is defunct but it also occurs to me that, if the belt slips at the bottom of the movement then the load on the motor will be less than if there was no slip. Does the belt slip or does the motor stall at the bottom?

3. Bargemanmac

Aug 12, 2017
    Hi , thanks for looking, no the belt doesn’t slip it drives to the bottom and then stalls, did you see the pic ? The relay at the top of the contactor do you think this is an overload sensor ?

4. AlbertHall

Distinguished Member

Jun 4, 2014
    What model is the compactor?
    There may be a wiring diagram somewhere on www.

5. Bargemanmac