Replacing a Solid State Relay Resistance Voltage Regulator with a 4-20mA SSR controlled by a PID

larold01

Joined Sep 28, 2017
I have a still with 5 heating elements controlled by 5 SSR regulators which are adjusted using potentiometers. I would like to replace this setup with one Omega PID controlling 5 4-20mA SSR regulators. I have some experience with the standard on/off SSR's but have not done anything with the regulated ones. My question is can one PID control 5 4-20mA SSRs wired in series or do i need to add some way of splitting the 1 PID single into 5.

This is whats in there now.

This is what i want to use.

THX

Attachments

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
You do understand that the 4-20mA input just turns the relay full on or full off and that the output is not proportional to the input current?
I don't know what you mean by SSR "regulated ones". :confused:

Yes, you can put all the inputs in series as long as you have adequate control voltage and the proper resistor in series to have an on-current of between 4ma and 20ma.
You need to allow about 1.5V drop for each relay, so the total drive voltage for 5 units in series would be at least 7.5V, so say 10V including the resistor drop.
If you control voltage is not that high, you can put them in series-parallel with a resistor to limit the input current for each group.

larold01

Joined Sep 28, 2017
From what i have read the output of the 4-20mA SSR is proportional to the input. The first one I listed defiantly does based on what the pot is set to. I know because they are what is in the system now. Here is something from omegas website "In addition to electromechanical and solid state relay outputs, proportional controllers are also available with proportional analog outputs, such as 4 to 20 mA or 0 to 5 Vdc. With these outputs, the actual output level is varied, rather than the on and off times, as with a relay output controller." The link to the article