Regulated 12V output out of 11V - 14V battery?

Davidovski

Joined Jan 10, 2019
Hi there,

I'm trying to design a voltage regulation circuit with a steady 12V output for a motor. The motor will be powered from a 11V - 14V battery (voltage depends on how much the battery is charged). The motor draws 0.5A without load and < 6A with load (in specification). However, I only managed to make it draw 2.5A with nominal load. But, for the sake of safety, let's say it will draw around 6A so I need an IC that can handle this.

I found a TI IC with sufficient specifications (10A) (LM25118) with a convenient HTSSOP package.

My question is, is this IC actually sufficient for my purpose or am I missing something? This is my first time dealing with switching regulators and it looks a little bit intimidating, so I rather asked first.

Are there any other options to get a steady 12V, 6A (max. current) at my output?

Any suggestions?

Thank you for your time. :)

- Dave

dendad

Joined Feb 20, 2016
Why do you need a steady 12V for your motor? Motors are not critical in their power requirements. If it is an automotive device, the voltage "naturally" varies over that range with no problems. One thing you will be well advised to include is a low voltage lock out, probably with a bit of a delay to allow motor start surges, to protect the battery from over discharge.

avayan

Joined Oct 30, 2015
I think you are thinking about this with a non optimized angle. You are thinking about designing a regulated power supply to control your motor, when in reality what you need to do is use a motor driver/controller which will in essence regulate the motor power for you. But before I go on, I need to point out you have two issues and you should get rid of one of them. The two issues are:

1. You want to control a motor with a voltage regulator.
  2. You want to regulate the voltage output to 12V even when the battery voltage is less.