RC delay circuit with darlington transistor for delayed power

ABHISHEK Shah 1

Joined Mar 14, 2018
Hi all,
I am a mechatronics engineer trying to learn and get into electrical stuff. I have attached the circuit that i currently have. Need someone to point out changes/mistakes that i have made as it does not work.
What I am trying to achieve:
Once i connect my android phone to charger, I want it to have a 1-2sec delay before it sees the power and starts charging.
General info:
Phone needs 5v and 500ma to charge. Phone has its own charging circuit which pulls current as it requires as long as it is connected to a 5v source and the source can provide the required current.
Untitled.png
Please assume T1 is a darlington transistor - NTE64.

The RC circuit by itself works fine. It gets to 1.2V in about a 1sec, which is what is required at the base of darlington transistor to activate.
Untitled1.png

Appreciate all the help here.

ebp

Joined Feb 8, 2018
A darlington will have about 0.7 volts collector to emitter when it is on. It may be that the phone interprets this as being an overloaded or out of tolerance supply and won't charge.

You could use a "logic level" FET instead of a darlington. The delay will be somewhat less predictable because the threshold voltage of the FET is not tightly controlled, but the ON voltage of the FET can be very low depending on the FET used - under 20 mV would be no problem with an inexpensive FET.

ABHISHEK Shah 1

Joined Mar 14, 2018
I need to look into FET. Can you suggest part number or something as i am not too electrically inclined.
I ran few more simulation and results are just not making sense to me at all.
Untitled2.png Untitled3.png

Should the voltage across resistor always be approx. 5V and current should be 5v/R? I do not know what why the results are the way they are. There is something going on that i do not understand.

ABHISHEK Shah 1

Joined Mar 14, 2018