Pulse width converter

IvarsOzolsDB

Joined Aug 24, 2012
I'm looking for a circuit, that converts any square wave pulse to given pulse width. For example: input changing frequency and width pulses, output gives constant defined width pulses but in that same frequency. Required output pulse width: 1.25 miliseconds long.

Any ideas?

JWHassler

Joined Sep 25, 2013
Look for a "edge-triggered one-shot" circuit.
Your input frequency will have to be less than 800 Hz ( 1/1.25mSec ). (If you already knew that, don't be offended: consider where we are.)

IvarsOzolsDB

Joined Aug 24, 2012
Thanks for your answer. Input pulses is longer than 1.25 miliseconds and pulse frequency (that is being varied) is also lower than 800Hz.

Any "dumbing down" is good. I'm a musician, not an electronics engineer, so very new to all this. :)

Is there any particular circuit, that is best suited for this? No microcontrolers please, no way to programm those.

I have looked at CD4093 datasheet witch suggested an RC network before one input to do that, but could not figure out formula given, to calculate proper values. :(

Last edited:

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I may misunderstand your needs but I think a standard 555 circuit known as a "one shot" or monostable multivibrator would do what you described. The incoming pulse, however shaped, will trigger a single defined output pulse. The only "trick" is that the output needs to finish before the next input arrives.

ian field

Joined Oct 27, 2012
I may misunderstand your needs but I think a standard 555 circuit known as a "one shot" or monostable multivibrator would do what you described. The incoming pulse, however shaped, will trigger a single defined output pulse. The only "trick" is that the output needs to finish before the next input arrives.