PS for 3.7v and 9,216 amps

okcdev

Joined Aug 24, 2023
I have some experience in electronics, have written a few firmware programs and designed a couple of basic PCBs but this project requires expertise! I have a future project coming up that has 4608 (yes over four thousand) modules, and each module needs 3.7v and 2amps. These modules are in a tight array physically. Trying to wrap my head around how I will power these things, and in the most efficient manner given the scale. I figure it will involve coming up with a suitable power supply that powers a couple hundred of modules or something. What's my best plan of attack? Hire an engineer to design a power supply? Thanks!

joeyd999

Joined Jun 6, 2011
I have some experience in electronics, have written a few firmware programs and designed a couple of basic PCBs but this project requires expertise! I have a future project coming up that has 4608 (yes over four thousand) modules, and each module needs 3.7v and 2amps. These modules are in a tight array physically. Trying to wrap my head around how I will power these things, and in the most efficient manner given the scale. I figure it will involve coming up with a suitable power supply that powers a couple hundred of modules or something. What's my best plan of attack? Hire an engineer to design a power supply? Thanks!
Ha, 30kW!

Sounds like you're going to need a high voltage bus (or busses, probably) that is stepped down individually by a switcher on each module. Otherwise, I2R loses are going to be excessive, and overall regulation will be impossible.

Last edited:

georgf

Joined Aug 12, 2021