Programming a PIC help required.

macke

Joined Oct 12, 2014
Hi I am a complete novice and I am trying to programme a PIC16F876 with a source code.

I tried using MPLAB X IDE V3.30 on a MAC, but it wouldn't compile or debug, so I tried MPLAB IDE V8.10 on Windows XP. I am using a PICKIT 2, and both the chip and programmer are recognised by the software. I understand that the source code is in TASM, but MPASM is expected, so I am assuming it doesn't like the syntax.

I have attached a copy of the errors.

Is there a list of differences between TASM and MPASM or can anyone help me to correct/convert it please.

Ken

Attachments

dannyf

Joined Sep 13, 2015
understand that the source code is in TASM, but MPASM is expected, so I am assuming it doesn't like the syntax
You have two options.
1. Get a tasm compiler and be done with it.
2. Understand what the task code is doing and recode the logic in a tool chain that you are comfortable with.

Last edited:

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
For starters, drop the dot before equ. Then see your errors. Or use the CBLOCK construction:
Code:
          CBLOCK        0x20
          Reg1
          Reg2
          Etc.
          ENDC
Not sure about $xx for a location. I just use 0x20 etc. (I typically use decimal as my default radix). Suspect that may be OK. Once you get your registers recognized.
upload_2016-5-31_6-32-56.png
Try banksel <name>

John

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
I tested the CBLOCK change, and that helped. Also noticed that you try to define a bit in PORTC with an equate. Changed that to a #define (i.e., a simple substitution) and fixed more errors.
Code:
     #define   DI        0x07
     #define   DO        0x06
     #define   SDATA     0x04
     #define   SCLK      0x03
;DI:         EQU $07        ; eeprom input bit
;DO:         EQU $06        ; eeprom output bit
;SDATA:      EQU $04        ; serial EE data line (PORTC)
;SCLK:       EQU $03        ; serial EE clock line (PORTC)