Programmable Microsecond Pulse Generator

analogtv

Joined May 12, 2022
I'm new to the electrical side of things, but I'm looking for a pulse generator that can send pulses in increments of 100 microseconds, 600 mV, frequency range 0.01-1 Hz.

I'm assuming something like this already exists commercially, or I can make it - but any suggestions would be welcome so far I've only found pulse generators that operate for nanoseconds

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
First a little about pulses. We have a Pulse Width which I assume you want a pulse with (on time) of 100 uS. Next there is the PRT Pulse Repetition Time the reciprocal of which is the PRF Pulse Repetition Frequency. You want a PRF of 0.01 to 1.0 Hz or a PRT of 100 sec to 1.0 sec. You want a peak voltage of 600 mV. Would that be correct?

Next as Yaakov mentioned this would go much better if the application were known. For example 600 mV into what load?

Wow, I need to type faster. :)

Ron

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
For 100μs pulse widths you need a 10kHz clock.
Feed this into a counter chip so that you can time n x 100μs.
Next, you need a slow variable frequency clock circuit such as a 555-timer circuit in order to control the repetition rate.
Now all you need is some glue logic to finish it off.

Or you can do it with one microcontroller chip.

analogtv

Joined May 12, 2022
How much precision do you need in timing? How much accuracy? How much repeatability?
I would need to be able to repeat the pulses in 100 microsecond timings, in terms of the accuracy ±5%.

Do you have a budget?

$1-2k

analogtv

Joined May 12, 2022
First a little about pulses. We have a Pulse Width which I assume you want a pulse with (on time) of 100 uS. Next there is the PRT Pulse Repetition Time the reciprocal of which is the PRF Pulse Repetition Frequency. You want a PRF of 0.01 to 1.0 Hz or a PRT of 100 sec to 1.0 sec. You want a peak voltage of 600 mV. Would that be correct?

Yes a peak voltage of 600mV