Problem with EMG sensor.

Eduardojsb

Joined Oct 15, 2020
Hi, I'm a biomedical engineering student and I'm a beginner in electronics, I was trying to build a relatively simple circuit using an arduino and a EMG sensor to get analog values whenever a muscle was flexed.
I was following the powering circuit provided by the sensor's manufacturer but the sensor started burning and I don't know why. I saw a youtube video of the same circuit working perfectly fine.
Can someone tell me if I did something wrong or why this could happen?
I will atach a file from the manufacturer.

Attachments

Eduardojsb

Joined Oct 15, 2020
Show us photos of how you connected the 9V batteries.
I dont have access to the components right now but I did do something on photoshop to show the exact way I connected the components. I also highlited the part that got burnt, again I'm a begginer, I dont know what it is.img.png

sghioto

Joined Dec 31, 2017
That part is a capacitor. A tantalum to be exact. Can you post a photo of the actual board? The part may be installed incorrectly or power was connected incorrectly for a moment. The breadboard looks OK.

Tonyr1084

Joined Sep 24, 2015
The thing that got burned looks like it might be an LED (Light Emitting Diode). As for the drawing of the connections, yeah, the way you've drawn it you've dead shorted the batteries. You would be better served to leave out the breadboard and just illustrate how you connected +9V, 0V, -9V.

Assuming you connected it correctly it should work. If it's burning something either it's mis-wired or the board has an issue.

[edit] Like this:
1602774292321.png

Last edited:

sghioto

Joined Dec 31, 2017
What are you guys looking at? The breadboard connections are fine. The top two rows are labeled minus and plus running horizontal.

Tonyr1084

Joined Sep 24, 2015