Powering a 130VDC motor from standard 120AC

onlyliveonce81

Joined Jan 14, 2015
I have basic electric knowledge but feel stuck on a few issues regarding this process. I have a 130VDC motor that I am attempting to control through a basic off/low/med/hi ceiling fan control knob. I have a properly rated rectifier for converting the ac to a dc current and understand that I also need a capacitor in parallel with the motor to smooth the current.

1)My basic understanding of electric motors tells me the draw from the 130VDC is going to be greater than 130V when initially starting the motor therefore my first thought is that I need to amplify to the voltage to the motor.

2)What rating should I be using for the capacitor in parallel.

3)I was given some advice on this subject before and was told I could use EITHER a start or a run capacitor for this purpose however it is my understanding that start capacitors are only for starting and will explode if left live in a continual system.

Thank you very much ahead of time for taking time to respond.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Are you using a bridge rectifier after the Triac controller?
Unless you absolutely want full rpm from the motor, you may not need the cap. if you do, it can be a 200vdc electrolytic, a motor run cap should not be needed and also they do not come in very high values needed for what you need, especially if the motor is fairly high current.
Max.

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
... I have a 130VDC motor that I am attempting to control through a basic off/low/med/hi ceiling fan control knob. I have a properly rated rectifier for converting the ac to a dc current and understand that I also need a capacitor in parallel with the motor to smooth the current.
Unlikely that the switch will work. It is made to work with a motor that has multiple windings; your likely does not.