Powered/Not powered IC in the logic

igor1960

Joined Oct 25, 2014
I'm new to electronics and I have probably simple, maybe even stupid question, which gurus here could easily answer.
Suppose I need to design circuit that consists of 2 parts of signal processing.
First part includes some simple logic using NAND gate, while second part uses opAmp (A1).
Second part would only be needed if first part returns positive output and let's assume this positive output is +5V DC.
Now is the question: can I use output of +5V DC as a power supply to A1 (Vs1+ as shown here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operational_amplifier), so my second stage would only be involved in processing while first stage outputs positive signal. Otherwise, op Amp wouldn't be powered, therefore it's output would be probably at 0 (??? also interesting maybe Vs1- as shown here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operational_amplifier)

Basically, the question is: how fast op Amp becomes operational -- is it momentarily or it requires sometime and if yes: how much and where is it specified.

Thank you.

RichardO

Joined May 4, 2013
As a general rule, you do not power off circuits that are not in use.

Powering off a circuit can cause a number of problems such as:
Damage to the input stage of the device from then input signal overdriving it.
Oscillations as the circuit powers up and down.
Loading of the input signal so that another circuit using that input does not get a good signal when another circuit is powered down.

Having said that, there are op-amps that have input pins designed to power down the amplifier. You can look for information on these parts to get some insight.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008