Power Supply with additional current pull

Shantanu Jagtap

Joined Nov 19, 2016
Hey everyone. I am kind of new to making physical electronic circuits. Currently I am trying to build a simple power supply.
Input = 230VAC 50HZ
Output Loads --
Load 1: 12V 12mA
Load 2: 12V 1.2A
Load 3: 3.3V 80mA.

Now I designed a circuit using multisim using a LM7812CT regulator that has a rating of 12Vout 1A. Now I am confused. If the rating of this regulator is 1A, how is it able to power 1.292A loads all connected together? Is it possible that it will run in the simulation but will not work when i actually build it?

Also the step down transformer I am using is 230V to 15V step down with 1A rating. Maybe i am unaware of some concept?

Also, If i add a relay with rating 12V 1A, will i need to increase the transformer to a higher rating? maybe a 15V 3A? But then again if the loads together pull 2.3A from a regulator that has a rating of 1A, won't the regulator burn out?

These questions may seem very stupid, but i am starting out new into building electronics and I am very keen to learn and make circuits. Any help or advise is appreciated.

Thank you.

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
Welcome to AAC.

Simulation does not prove a real life situation.
The 7812 cannot supply even 1A without a good heatsink. You have to consider the power dissipation. A simulation shows you what is actually been supplied to the load.
To get 1.2A you might need to consider a 5A regulator or connecting 2pc of 7812 in parallel.

A relay does not draw 1 A. It is the contact capacity ratings.

A 15V 1A transformer cannot supply 1A DC. It will be less than that if you are using a bridge rectifier.
If you are using a center tap transformer than 1A AC is equal to 1A DC. But the voltage will be less.

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
The sum of current for the 3 loads you specified will be 1.3A Approx.
So to get atleast 12V DC out you need around 18V DC input to the 7812.

The transformer for 18V at 1.3A DC will be;