optically isolated and debounced 24V switch input

areslagae

Joined Jun 10, 2017
Hi all,

First post. I am a computer engineer getting into electronics from the software side (Raspberry, Arduino, ...). I only have a basic electronics knowledge. I have had some courses a long time ago but that's it. Please be gentle.

I am building a optically isolated and debounced 24V swich input for a microcontroller for a home automation application.

I came up with the circuit below by simply replacing the switch in JG Ganssle's (?) debouncer with an optocoupler. The circuit seems to work. I did experience severe problems initially (Schmitt trigger settling at intermediate voltages) but these seem to have disappeared by grounding all unused inputs and adding a decoupling capacitor (I did not expect that, the 6 triggers seemed independant).

I am attaching a couple of screenshots that I took with a usb scope. The switch I am using bounces significantly when closing but does not bounce when opening. Red is Schmitt trigger output (OUT in schematic below), blue is switch input (IN in schematic below) or capacitor voltage (top of C1 in schematic below). Switch input is scaled by 10x.

I have the following questions about this circuit:

1/ How do I optimally pick values for R1, R2 and C1 in this circuit? The circuit seems to work equally well with e.g. R1 and R2 = 100K and C1 = 47n. This makes sense since the charging / discharging time constants are the same. However, there must be other boundary conditions, like current through the optocoupler (which seems quite small in any case so I do not expect CTR issues) or voltage at the Schmitt trigger input?