Omron PLC fault finding

Thread Starter

BENCASEY83

Joined Jan 27, 2017
45
Hi guys

I am having a small issue with fault finding on an Omron PLC which is going in to alarm and will not all the machine to run. I am very lightly experienced with PLCs as it has been a very long time since I have had to fault find on them. I have plugged into the PLC and went in to monitor mode and found out what is holding the machine out which is shown in the snip below on the NC contact 10.03 When I force this output the alarm goes away and the machine runs as normal, this means the start and stop buttons work as normal and all of the safeties work as normal. I have checked all safeties and NC contacts i can find and found no issue. Again even with my amateur status on PLCs am I right to assume that the 10.03 is an actual input? I am not familiar with how Omron label their contacts and coils etc. Since forcing the output the machine is running as it should but i need to dig a little deeper as to what this is. Is there any other tricks i can try within the software to help? Also the second snip image is where the instruction appears again in the program.
 

Attachments

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
23,606
It is many eons ago since I worked on Omron, but the 10.03 is definitely shown as an output, so all functions for it can be used in any string, not sure what the symbol is next to it?
Is this alarm due to a legit programmed rung?
IOW, is it a normal rung function in the programmed ladder and not a fault with the PLC itself?
Max.
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
23,606
What is the model No. of the PLC?
I don't recognize those instructions, they usually have a letter ID in front to indicate I/O, timer, counter, etc.
 

Thread Starter

BENCASEY83

Joined Jan 27, 2017
45
It is many eons ago since I worked on Omron, but the 10.03 is definitely shown as an output, so all functions for it can be used in any string, not sure what the symbol is next to it?
Is this alarm due to a legit programmed rung?
IOW, is it a normal rung function in the programmed ladder and not a fault with the PLC itself?
Max.
Hi Max

The little symbol beside it is what pops up when its state has been forced either on or off as i mentioned. As far as your other question with the rung function I am not sure. Like I mentioned in first post my in depth knowledge of PLC fault finding is limited. but the machine is running as normal since i forced this state. Again all safeties are ok and machine is no longer alarming but obviously it is still not correct with this having to be changed
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
23,606
Non of the rung functions show as ON or conducting, how come all are showing dead?
Is the external supply power OK to the physical objects themselves?
 

Thread Starter

BENCASEY83

Joined Jan 27, 2017
45
Non of the rung functions show as ON or conducting, how come all are showing dead?
Is the external supply power OK to the physical objects themselves?
The power is ok i took the snips when i disconnected from the PLC once the machine got back running. I wont get back to plug back in until morning
 

Hilpert

Joined Mar 10, 2021
1
It's been a few years for me, but I remember the F1 Help files to be extremely useful in SYSMAC. One of my go-to's is to call a distributor near a tier 1 that uses X-Product (Honda used Omron, at least a few years ago) and ask to speak to that supplier's X-Product specialist.


mymilestonecard
 

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
5,632
It's been a few years for me, but I remember the F1 Help files to be extremely useful in SYSMAC. One of my go-to's is to call a distributor near a tier 1 that uses X-Product (Honda used Omron, at least a few years ago) and ask to speak to that supplier's X-Product specialist.


mymilestonecard
Op is not using Sysmac Studio, but CX-Programmer. I am puzzled as to why the address types are not shown. I assume the view setting are non-default, and address types are turned off. We should be able to see "I:x.xx" and "O:y.yy" or other letter corresponding to timer, internal memory, etc. This will be much more difficult to solve without that information displayed.
 
Top