NPN transistor modeling

lorenzoalari

Joined Jun 30, 2017
Hi everyone,
I am a mechanical engineering student and I need to develop an electric circuit. I designed the circuit with Pspice, but then I needed to implement it in Simulink. In the circuit, I have npn and pnp transistors (tip31c, tip32c) and in Simulink I cannot pick up the model of the transistor directly, but I need to specify some properties from the datasheet.
I am asked to insert:
  • the forward current transfer ratio h_fe: in a datasheet 3 different values of h_fe are specified, and I do not know the difference among them
  • Ic and Vce at which h_fe is specified: I found them in the datasheet
  • output admittance h_oe: I guess it is Ic/Vce with the values of point 2
  • Voltage Vbe: I found it in the datasheet
  • Current Ib for voltage Vbe: in the datasheet I found Ic for Vbe, thus I divided Ic by h_fe. Is it correct?
  • Reverse current transfer ratio: no idea about what it is, set to 1
  • Collector and Emitor resistances: I have no idea where to find them

freesoftDX

Joined Feb 6, 2017
it would help if we had a schematic. what is the circuit supposed to do? do U want small-signal parameters, or DC measurements (the two are quite different)? is it possible for U to get the needed parameters from Pspice?

lorenzoalari

Joined Jun 30, 2017
it would help if we had a schematic. what is the circuit supposed to do? do U want small-signal parameters, or DC measurements (the two are quite different)? is it possible for U to get the needed parameters from Pspice?