New to this , eager to learn while working on this project

DeSEBticoN

Joined Nov 14, 2014
Hello Everyone, My name is Sebastian, I am new to this message board but i do have a little electronics experience. I am hear to seek knowledge and learn while i attempt to work on my project idea. The main goal is quite simple, I would like to swap out all my car interior bulbs for brighter SMD LEDs however I have no idea how to go about tackling this. When i mean car interior bulbs, i am referring to the ones on the inside of the HVAC/Radio panels, door switches and gauge cluster circuit boards. I have a bit of information but the bits i have do not seem to get me where i want to be so i will just post a bunch of questions with hopes of someone being able to answer them. Ill start off with these...

1. Where do i start ?

I know most cars run everything of off the 12V DC current, someone told me that if there is a bulb on any of the circuit boards i can take voltage meter and find out what that bulbs voltage output is when its on. what is the next step after that ? can i just get the same voltage SMD LED and swap it out ? it cant be that simple can it ?

2. SMD Resistors ?

another person told me that i need a specific SMD LED and i have to pair it with a specific SMD Resistor.
I know when it comes to SMD LEDs the number like 3020 or 5050 usually means the size of the LED such as 3020 being 3.0 mm by 2.0 mm, i also know there is a anode and a cathode, but that is as far as my knowledge of SMD LEDs extends. So the question is how do i select the right SMD LED for the job and how do i know what resistor to use with it ?

3. Hot Spots, what are they ?

another word that kept coming up is hot spots on the circuit boards. can someone tell me what that means?

I have access to the wiring schematics for the cas but im not sure if it goes into such details as to name the components used in the circuit.