New guy, new question

Strip

Joined Feb 19, 2014
Hello everyone, I hate people who joins these forums only when they have a problem and only want free advice. But I kinda have to at this point because I am stumped. LOl

Here is my issue, I need to trigger a 12v relay with a vibration sensor. here is the one I bought. http://www.ebay.com/itm/10PCS-SW-18...489?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item258144d7b9

My problem is I can't get enough voltage through the sensor to trigger the relay. I know that I am trying to use something beyond it's intended design, but as I am new to electronics I really don't know what the best route to go is.

If there is a vibration/shock sensor that will handle 12v < 3amp please suggest it. if not how about a relay that will trigger with about 1 volt, or any other suggestion would be very much appreciated.

I am not using any type of controller with this. I just simply need to activate a relay with shock and/or vibration.

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
To trigger the relay when the switch is closed, you simply need a transistor to amplify the current. However, that would probably not do what you want. Please describe how you expect the relay to act. For example, you might want it to turn on and stay on once any vibration is detected. Or stay on for a specified period of time. Or you might want it to turn on and off continually if the sensor is shaken.

Bob

studiot

Joined Nov 9, 2007
Welcome strip, you will find AAC a friendly and helpful place, you might even find a laugh from time to time.

Meanwhile Bob has given an excellent response; we really do need more information to help effectively.

:)

Last edited:

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
Hello everyone, I hate people who joins these forums only when they have a problem and only want free advice.
Let's see how long you hang around :D