Need to find a device that will power a single outlet when it gets power from dual inlets

knedlin12

Joined Jan 10, 2024
Hello,

I have some general electronics knowledge but need some help with this situation. I'm trying to add some reverse lights on a UTV. Unfortunately the manufacture did not install a powered connector to the rear of the vehicle for reverse lights. I found the wiring diagram for the UTV and think I might have a solution but needing to find out what kind of switch, relay, connector, etc... that I need.

Please see the attached photo. When the machine is in reverse(R), it looks like the Red/Yel and Blu/Whit wires are hot. I should be able to tap into these wires, run them to some type of device that when dual separate inlets are hot, it will provide a single hot outlet? I should be able to then run the hot outlet line to the rear of the vehicle and have power to lights only when the machine is in reverse?

This device would have to keep the dual inlets separate though. If inlet 1 is hot but not inlet 2, or vise versa, it cannot let power back feed into inlet 2 or the computer would constantly think the machine is in reverse. This devise also cannot allow outlet 3 to be hot if only one of the inlets is hot. Otherwise the outlet would be hot, no matter what gear the machine is in with the exception of park(P).

Thanks for your help!

Attachments

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
I don’t understand. When the car is in reverse, the backup lights are powered, when it is not in reverse, they are not powered. Why would the single wire going to the backup lights not serve your purpose?

knedlin12

Joined Jan 10, 2024
I don’t understand. When the car is in reverse, the backup lights are powered, when it is not in reverse, they are not powered. Why would the single wire going to the backup lights not serve your purpose?